Where is the network config tool ?

New to SolydXK? This is the place to start.
Please check the other subforums to see if there's a more suitable place for your question.
User avatar
rolgiati
Posts: 209
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 16:10

Where is the network config tool ?

Postby rolgiati » 06 Jan 2014 19:15

I am reinstalling SolydX on a friend's box after a system upgrade hosed the esiting system (booting failed on Plymouth).

I have sucessfully installed from solydx64_201311.iso which worked, but find myself stumped: Where is the GUI tool for configuring the network ?

User avatar
Litux1516
Posts: 26
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 20:07

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Litux1516 » 07 Jan 2014 17:43

I don't use XFCE, but did you look at System Settings or so...
Laptop Toshiba Satellite P850-30W
Quad core Intel Core i7-3610QM @ 2.9GHz - 8 GB RAM - 256 GB SSD Vertex 4
Card-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Card-2: NVIDIA GK107M [GeForce GT 640M]
SolydK 64 Production

User avatar
rolgiati
Posts: 209
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 16:10

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby rolgiati » 07 Jan 2014 19:33

Litux1516 wrote:I don't use XFCE, but did you look at System Settings or so...
First thing I did was look at the System and Settings menus; found nothing in System so I went through Settings and found Network Connections, where I entered IP addresses, netmask etc, and got absolutely no result.

(As an aside while I am very glad I went over to XFCE and got rid of the bloatware KDE has become, the only part of KDE I regret are the set of drake tools that came with Mandrake / Mandriva / Mageia )

So in short, No, there is nothing either in the System menu or the Settings menu.

Fargo
Posts: 896
Joined: 17 Sep 2013 14:40

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Fargo » 07 Jan 2014 20:49

Sorry I'm no help here. But I just wanted to comment that the Drake tools in Mandrake,Mageia, PCLOS etc are not KDE tools. They are tools designed by Mandrake years ago. They would be available in Mandrakes XFCE versions as well. But please don't leave on that account, I'm sure someone here will get you setup. But I agree that the Drake tools are awesome. Many times I have considered switching to Mageia just for those tools. But I still like Debian better once its set up. Its just too bad no one has been able to port those tools over to Debian. I believe it has been tried several times.

User avatar
grizzler
Posts: 2217
Joined: 04 Mar 2013 15:45
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby grizzler » 07 Jan 2014 21:55

rolgiati wrote:First thing I did was look at the System and Settings menus; found nothing in System so I went through Settings and found Network Connections, where I entered IP addresses, netmask etc, and got absolutely no result.
Same experience here, when I installed SolydX64 a couple of months ago (I think it was with the previous iso). I ended up setting up networking manually. I needed a specialised setup with a network bridge anyway.

When I scanned through a couple of forum threads I found some postings mentioning the use of Wicd instead of Network Manager. Both were in the repo, but neither were installed. I tried Network Manager and it did put an applet on the panel, but changing settings there didn't actually do anything so I removed it again. Maybe Wicd does work? I haven't tried it.
Frank

SolydX EE 64 - tracking Debian Testing

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Zill » 07 Jan 2014 22:07

rolgiati: By default, SolydX uses the GUI NetworkManager applet and so you should be able to enter any required configuration settings for wired or wireless networking into this. It should be running as an icon at the bottom right of the panel.

However, for a wired connection, this is not actually necessary as the default configuration of file /etc/network/interfaces should automatically connect to your router via dhcp:

Code: Select all

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
If you prefer to use a static IP then details can also be entered into this file and you can then disable dhcp.

Going back to NetworkManager, I cannot comment much more on this as I personally prefer Wicd and so have removed NM from my systems. Note that both these GUI applications cannot co-exist!

User avatar
rolgiati
Posts: 209
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 16:10

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby rolgiati » 07 Jan 2014 22:19

Fargo wrote: But please don't leave on that account, I'm sure someone here will get you setup.
I do not plan to leave, very pleased with SolydX, only bemoaning the lack of a network config tool in the standard install.

I know I can download Wicd, but for that I would need to have the network working ;-3(

Could we have it included in the next release ? Please Sir ?

Until then I have used vi to edit /etc/network/interfaces, create /etc/resolv.conf and it now works; but you will agree that newbies cannot be expected to do that, can they ?

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Zill » 07 Jan 2014 23:23

rolgiati wrote:...only bemoaning the lack of a network config tool in the standard install.
NetworkManager is installed in SolydX 201311 by default!
rolgiati wrote:...Until then I have used vi to edit /etc/network/interfaces, create /etc/resolv.conf and it now works; but you will agree that newbies cannot be expected to do that, can they ?
It is not necessary to edit /etc/network/interfaces unless you wish to specify a static IP. The default configuration connects via ethernet/DHCP just fine. Similarly, /etc/resolv.conf does not normally need manually editing unless you have specific configuration requirements.

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby zerozero » 08 Jan 2014 01:05

clarifying a few things:
until the august isos X was using wicd; was following this discussion http://forums.solydxk.nl/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=855 that was decided to replace going forward wicd with n-m;

the latest isos have n-m installed

Code: Select all

solydxk@solydxk:~$ dpkg -l | grep network-
ii  glib-networking:amd64                  2.36.1-2                        amd64        network-related giomodules for GLib
ii  glib-networking-common                 2.36.1-2                        all          network-related giomodules for GLib - data files
ii  glib-networking-services               2.36.1-2                        amd64        network-related giomodules for GLib - D-Bus services
ii  network-manager                        0.9.8.0-5                       amd64        network management framework (daemon and userspace tools)
ii  network-manager-gnome                  0.9.8.4-1                       amd64        network management framework (GNOME frontend)
ii  network-manager-openvpn                0.9.8.4-1                       amd64        network management framework (OpenVPN plugin core)
ii  network-manager-pptp                   0.9.8.4-1                       amd64        network management framework (PPTP plugin core)
ii  network-manager-pptp-gnome             0.9.8.4-1                       amd64        network management framework (PPTP plugin GNOME GUI)
ii  network-manager-vpnc                   0.9.8.6-1                       amd64        network management framework (VPNC plugin core)
[output from the 201311 liveUSB]

and the n-m applet is visible in the panel
Screenshot1.png
Screenshot1.png (3.9 KiB) Viewed 4589 times
there is however a problem that was already reported a few times (and needs to be addressed) http://forums.solydxk.nl/viewtopic.php? ... 544#p12538 (for example)
bliss of ignorance

User avatar
rolgiati
Posts: 209
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 16:10

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby rolgiati » 08 Jan 2014 15:56

Zill wrote:It is not necessary to edit /etc/network/interfaces unless you wish to specify a static IP.
With due respect, I started this thread about having a problem when installing in a fixed-IP situation; so there is little comfort to be got from knowing it works well under dhcp...

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Zill » 08 Jan 2014 16:48

rolgiati wrote:...I have sucessfully installed from solydx64_201311.iso which worked, but find myself stumped: Where is the GUI tool for configuring the network ?
Your original post made no mention of a fixed-IP. Most routers, in my experience, do have a dhcp server and so a dynamic IP is usually available. In these circumstances, SolydX will automatically connect via an ethernet cable.

However, returning to your original question, the GUI tool for configuring the network (including a static IP) is NetworkManager and this is installed by default with the solydx64_201311.iso, your specified release.

User avatar
rolgiati
Posts: 209
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 16:10

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby rolgiati » 09 Jan 2014 21:03

Zill wrote:Your original post made no mention of a fixed-IP.
Sorry my mistake. Confusion with what posted at the same time in Tutorials
Zill wrote:However, returning to your original question, the GUI tool for configuring the network (including a static IP) is NetworkManager and this is installed by default with the solydx64_201311.iso, your specified release.
If you refer to the program opened by the icon in the task-bar, which opens a window titled "Connections Configuration", I have tried several times to use it in a brand-new install (create new connection, enter the IP address, netmask, gateway, DNSs) and found it does nothing at all (Connection does not start, no change in /etc/network/interfaces or in # ifconfig, no new /etc/resolv.conf).

So I gave up on NetworkManager, having come to suspect it might be some offering from the XFCE Practical Jokes department; I looked for and found other ways to get the damn box connected, and posted what I did find in the tutorial section of the forum in case it may help others who find themselves in the same bind.

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Zill » 09 Jan 2014 23:23

rolgiati wrote:...If you refer to the program opened by the icon in the task-bar, which opens a window titled "Connections Configuration", I have tried several times to use it in a brand-new install (create new connection, enter the IP address, netmask, gateway, DNSs) and found it does nothing at all (Connection does not start, no change in /etc/network/interfaces or in # ifconfig, no new /etc/resolv.conf)...
This may be because NetworkManager does not manage any interface defined in /etc/network/interfaces by default. i.e. the network is unmanaged. In order to manage the network with NetworkManager you need to set managed=true in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf and then restart NetworkManager

See the NetworkManager Debian Wiki for more details.

NetworkManager does not, IIRC, make any changes to existing configuration files such as /etc/network/interfaces.

User avatar
rolgiati
Posts: 209
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 16:10

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby rolgiati » 10 Jan 2014 09:43

Zill wrote:This may be because NetworkManager does not manage any interface defined in /etc/network/interfaces by default. i.e. the network is unmanaged. In order to manage the network with NetworkManager you need to set managed=true in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf and then restart NetworkManager
So to go back to my initial query, this seems to show that the answer is NO, the default SolydX install does not have a network config GUI tool ready to use.

Which in turn brings up several questions:
- Should there be such a tool available in the default install ?
- If that tool is NetworkManager, why is it installed in an inactive mode ?
- Why is there no indication in the NM GUI that the prog is inactive ?

And the most important in my view:
- In the present situation, how are the poor noobs supposed to deal with the problem if their network needs configuring before they can connect ?

User avatar
grizzler
Posts: 2217
Joined: 04 Mar 2013 15:45
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby grizzler » 10 Jan 2014 10:30

In my opinion this is not a sensible setup. People have no indication that the GUI tool doesn't do anything.
Some might argue that in general, noobs won't need or want to change the default settings created during installation and non-noobs will be able to figure out what's wrong and fix things, but that's hardly 'user friendly'.
Frank

SolydX EE 64 - tracking Debian Testing

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Zill » 10 Jan 2014 11:15

rolgiati: In order to investigate this further it would be helpful if you would do the following:
  1. Boot from your solydx64_201311.iso and then run SolydX as a live dvd (not from the hdd) so that you are running a default system.
  2. Ensure your PC is connected to your (working) modem/router via an ethernet cable.
  3. Without changing anything (leave config files and NetworkManager untouched), open Firefox and see if you have internet connection.
Please advise the results of these tests. If you did not obtain internet connection with the live DVD then please also advise exactly how you connect your PC to the internet. Do you use DSL or cable? What modem/router hardware do you use (make/model) and have you changed the default settings for this hardware in any way?

User avatar
rolgiati
Posts: 209
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 16:10

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby rolgiati » 10 Jan 2014 11:40

I have already done that, so I did not complain about things that were due to my oft-upgraded syste: ran on both the Live-CD, and on a clean install done on a formated /dev/sd.
Result: Firefox sees nothing: "Server not found Firefox can't find the server at..." and a "$ ping 192.168.1.1" my box on the LAN) gives "ping: unknown host 192.168.1.1".

My setup: all the boxes in the house connect in a cabled LAN, which accesses the Internet through a dedicated firewall box running the Linux IPCop distribution, itself connected to a cable-modem; the IPCop box (and all the others on the LAN) is configured to use fixed IP addresses (no DHCP) to improve security.

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Zill » 10 Jan 2014 11:59

rolgiati wrote:...My setup: all the boxes in the house connect in a cabled LAN, which accesses the Internet through a dedicated firewall box running the Linux IPCop distribution, itself connected to a cable-modem; the IPCop box (and all the others on the LAN) is configured to use fixed IP addresses (no DHCP) to improve security.
OK - thanks for that. I think we have now identified the problem. ;)

Your setup is very different from a typical "noob", who just connects a PC to a standard modem/router that, by default, uses dhcp. Most noobs would definitely not be running a firewall box with static IPs!

IMHO, this really is not a problem for noobs as their system should connect via ethernet fine as long as they use the default SolydX settings. NetworkManager is superfluous for this as the settings in /etc/network/interfaces do the job. If their PC happens to be a laptop then the default NetworkManager will allow them to easily connect to wifi APs just by entering the SSID authentication passphrase.

It is only when you want to move away from the defaults (to things such as static IPs) that you need to learn how to configure various files and then, by definition, you are no longer a noob!

User avatar
rolgiati
Posts: 209
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 16:10

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby rolgiati » 10 Jan 2014 13:26

True in my personal case, but I have a noob in the house who wants to install his own system, without Daddy's help thank you, and who is going to have problems when he does it and tries to connect to the house LAN....

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Where is the network config tool ?

Postby Zill » 10 Jan 2014 15:43

rolgiati wrote:... the IPCop box (and all the others on the LAN) is configured to use fixed IP addresses (no DHCP) to improve security.
So it is good that your noob can confirm that Daddy's security really works. ;)


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests