AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

New to SolydXK? This is the place to start.
Please check the other subforums to see if there's a more suitable place for your question.
User avatar
phazon1
Posts: 62
Joined: 19 Jan 2014 03:25
Contact:

AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby phazon1 » 29 Nov 2014 21:38

Greetings to all

I just built a DELL inspiron 1501 with a Turion 64 bit CPU.

Without going into all the details, which might be interesting at some time, let me get to the point.

I was able to install Windows Vista Pro 64 bit version. That runs fine.

I tried to install Linux SolydK 64 bit for dual-boot, and when I tried to install it, I get a garbled screen. It shows a variety of colorful streaks, or choppy patches of color.

I thought maybe I had a bad copy of SolydK, but Ubuntu, SolydX, Manjaro etc, all do the same thing. I even tried 32 bit versions of all of these. Strange thing is, I would have thought that between Windows and Linux, Linux would have been the easier, more forgiven distro to install with fewer problems.

Any ideas?

NOTE: I built a previous DELL inspiron 1501 with a Sempron 32 bit CPU. It has absolutely no problems with any distro...

Cheers

User avatar
Snap
Posts: 1244
Joined: 25 Aug 2013 20:01
Location: Spain

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby Snap » 30 Nov 2014 00:06

What GPU?
This likely means that your installation is broken. -Mr Pixbuf.

Image

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby wisemagic » 30 Nov 2014 03:07

You most likely will need to install in safe graphics mode with the VESA driver, and after installation update the video driver to the current one.
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
phazon1
Posts: 62
Joined: 19 Jan 2014 03:25
Contact:

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby phazon1 » 30 Nov 2014 15:57

wisemagic wrote:You most likely will need to install in safe graphics mode with the VESA driver, and after installation update the video driver to the current one.
Ok, how do I do that? Is this something I should see as an option when I boot with a CD or DVD? Can't say that I have the slightest idea how to do that, so I might need you to expound upon the steps involved. How do I make the determination which driver I need?

Also, what is "GPU"?

User avatar
Snap
Posts: 1244
Joined: 25 Aug 2013 20:01
Location: Spain

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby Snap » 30 Nov 2014 16:31

Graphics card.

Please, post the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -G
This likely means that your installation is broken. -Mr Pixbuf.

Image

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby wisemagic » 30 Nov 2014 19:06

To start in Compatibility mode, boot the CD, and hit either the space bar or esc key. You will get a menu to select it from. You can also try without Plymouth, which also may be causing your problem.

GPU = graphics processing unit

Since the Inspiron 1501 is running an AMD CPU, I would lean towards the GPU being ATI. AMD owns ATI.
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
fleabus
Posts: 1227
Joined: 16 Sep 2013 04:24
Location: Winchester, VA USA

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby fleabus » 30 Nov 2014 19:59

When the CD boots, you get a ten second countdown. You must interrupt that by hitting Enter, or Escape, or Spacebar, and you'll see the menu, with option to boot in safe graphics mode....

If you are able to get the live DVD to boot in graphics safe mode, could you then open a terminal, and run

Code: Select all

inxi -Fzxx
This gives us a lot of very useful info, which we can use to help us troubleshoot. So..

Then, could you copy and paste this info into a forum message, so we can better help you?

Thanks! :)

-- Dave

User avatar
phazon1
Posts: 62
Joined: 19 Jan 2014 03:25
Contact:

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby phazon1 » 30 Nov 2014 21:26

Well, hitting the space bar during the 10 second count-down allows me to "boot without Plymouth", "boot in compatibility mode", etc.

All with the same result.

I was able to capture the message given when booting in "regular" mode.

when the boo process starts after the 10 second count-down, I see only one or two sentences, then I get the following message
MP-bios bug: 8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC
That seems important.

Otherwise, not able to get to a screen which would allow me to run those commands in terminal window....

Thanks

User avatar
fleabus
Posts: 1227
Joined: 16 Sep 2013 04:24
Location: Winchester, VA USA

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby fleabus » 30 Nov 2014 21:51

Sorry, yes, I was referring to compatibility mode, "safe graphics" is not listed, but compatibility mode does force vesa. Sorry it was no help...

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby wisemagic » 30 Nov 2014 21:56

That appears to be a BIOS conflict. Have you attempted to update the BIOS of this machine, to the most current version?
You might check Dell's support website to see if an updated BIOS is available. Sometimes several things are fixed with a BIOS update, just be sure to follow their directions to the letter. A bad BIOS Flash can leave you with a bricked machine.


You might try disabling APIC/ACPI in the BIOS, and see if it boots and sets up.

In searching this error message,

MP-bios bug: 8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC

It does seem to be a problem on some machines.

EDIT: This is the only BIOS Update I see for that machine.

http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/ ... egoryId=BI
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
phazon1
Posts: 62
Joined: 19 Jan 2014 03:25
Contact:

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby phazon1 » 01 Dec 2014 01:17

wisemagic wrote:You might try disabling APIC/ACPI in the BIOS, and see if it boots and sets up.
What is APIC?

How can we live without it?

Is this something common only with 64 bit installations?

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby wisemagic » 01 Dec 2014 01:35

I think your Dell is a vintage 2006 machine. Easiest way to find out if ACPI is your problem, is to go into your BIOS and disable it, and see if SolydX will install.

If it does install, then that would suggest that the current ACPI in the BIOS is not understandable by SolydX.

If the problem is still present after disabling ACPI, then you can re-enable it, as that would prove it is not the cause of the problem.
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
Snap
Posts: 1244
Joined: 25 Aug 2013 20:01
Location: Spain

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby Snap » 01 Dec 2014 06:38

Maybe it's an ACPI issue... but it still sounds to me like a GPU drivers issue.
This likely means that your installation is broken. -Mr Pixbuf.

Image

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby wisemagic » 01 Dec 2014 12:58

It could very well be GPU, but his error message,

"MP-bios bug: 8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC"

leads me to think otherwise. I think this is leading to a kernel panic.
When I look up the error message, some say to add noapic or no_timer_check to the grub.conf

I think if it were GPU, he would have made it in compatibility mode.
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
Snap
Posts: 1244
Joined: 25 Aug 2013 20:01
Location: Spain

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby Snap » 01 Dec 2014 14:25

Ooops, I skipped that post.... I went backwards and found it.... :oops:
This likely means that your installation is broken. -Mr Pixbuf.

Image

User avatar
phazon1
Posts: 62
Joined: 19 Jan 2014 03:25
Contact:

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby phazon1 » 06 Dec 2014 12:20

wisemagic wrote:some say to add noapic or no_timer_check to the grub.conf
how would I do THAT to an installation disk?

keep in mind, this only happens with a 64 Bit AMD Turion CPU in the socket...

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby wisemagic » 07 Dec 2014 05:46

During the 10 second count-down, hitting esc, or enter or space bar to "boot without Plymouth", "boot in compatibility mode".
Then press e to append noapic or no_timer_check
after you have it entered, press enter and see if it boots for you.

EDIT:

I've not been using SolydX for some time now, and instead have been running pure Debian XFCE.
I'm also looking at a problem where I haven't been able to get to a live desktop with the current SolydX iso, in VirtualBox 4.3.20.

I'm not having that issue with earlier versions of SolydX iso's. So, if you do have an earlier version of the iso, you may want to try it also.
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
phazon1
Posts: 62
Joined: 19 Jan 2014 03:25
Contact:

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby phazon1 » 27 Dec 2014 17:28

well, I tried the above instructions with no luck. After pressing space, or escape, or whatever (tried several) I noticed a message at the bottom that said press "alt" to change parameters of the "without plymouth" or "compatibility mode" boot choices.
pressing "e" puts an "e" at the end of the resulting sentence that originally had 3 (three) dashes at the end of it (---). The last dash gets replaced by the "e"....

none of this sounds like what I expected to see as described above, but it was worth a shot.

User avatar
phazon1
Posts: 62
Joined: 19 Jan 2014 03:25
Contact:

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby phazon1 » 04 Jan 2015 04:26

wisemagic wrote:During the 10 second count-down, hitting esc, or enter or space bar to "boot without Plymouth", "boot in compatibility mode".
no problem here, pressing a key spawns a list of 8 line items to choose from, 2 o which are "boot without Plymouth" and "boot in compatibility mode"
wisemagic wrote:Then press e to append noapic or no_timer_check
after you have it entered, press enter and see if it boots for you.
is this just simply pressing "e" them typing the following command? I am not sure how to "append"

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 9518
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: AMD Turion 64x2 garbled screen during installation

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 04 Jan 2015 11:58

It's "e" when you run EFI, else it's "Tab".
If "e" doesn't open the editor, use the "Tab".
Move the cursor (use the arrow-keys) after the word "quiet".
Type "noapic" so that the line ends with "quiet noapic --":
noapic.png
noapic.png (2.05 KiB) Viewed 5601 times
Hit "Enter" to start the system.
If that didn't work, replace "noapic" with "no_timer_check".

Good luck!


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests