[CLOSED] [Request] Kingsoft Office

Sly Dok

[CLOSED] [Request] Kingsoft Office

Postby Sly Dok » 01 Jul 2014 21:22

I would like to suggest the addition of Kingsoft Office (a.k.a. WPS Office) to the community repository. It's an office suite that is highly compatible with MS Office file formats, and it's available as freeware for Linux, Windows, iOS and Android.

http://www.wps.com/linux/

http://wps-community.org/

http://wps-community.org/download.html

Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin

Re: [Request] Kingsoft Office

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 02 Jul 2014 02:17

Does it also support Visual Basic on Linux?
Most Excel "applications" I had to work with had a lot of VB coding behind it, and as far as I know, you can't run that in Linux :?

SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

Sly Dok

Postby Sly Dok » 02 Jul 2014 02:50

I'm not an expert on Excel, I'm afraid. But I'm running Kingsoft Office on my SolydK system, and it does contain a spreadsheet application, which seems to run fine. Are you saying this is probably just a very basic, crippled Excel clone?

kurotsugi

Postby kurotsugi » 02 Jul 2014 05:36

AFAIK the linux version is still on alpha version and lack support from the devs. I'm not sure if it can replace the functionality of LO. WPS also a propietary software we can't build it for debian testing.

Sly Dok

Postby Sly Dok » 02 Jul 2014 09:40

kurotsugi wrote:I'm not sure if it can replace the functionality of LO.
Surely, there are differences. But I, for one, prefer it over Libre Office, because with Kingsoft Office I can open, edit and save Word, Excel and PowerPoint files without having to worry about layout issues, and because the Windows version of Libre Office is incredibly slow.

kurotsugi

Postby kurotsugi » 02 Jul 2014 14:54

the alpha version have lot's of bug. please read our guidelines, especially point two
Community Packaging Guidelines

GENERAL CONSIDERATIONS